DSC Student Publications Receives Multiple Awards at State Conference

By Christina Lavris
In Motion Staff Writer

The night of Friday Oct. 13 proved a lucky one for Daytona State College’s Student Publications, as the campus newspaper, In Motion, and Aeolus literary magazine staff received multiple awards during the 58th Annual Florida College System Activities Association Student Publications Awards Conference.

The Ladies of In Motion: Cynde Puckett, Christina Lavris, Kaitlin Barbier, and Michele Meyer show off their awards for all their hard work.
The Ladies of In Motion: Cynde Puckett, Christina Lavris, Kaitlin Barbier, and Michele Meyer show off their awards for all their hard work.

In the Newspaper General Excellence category, Miami Dade College’s Reporter placed first for the third consecutive year, followed by The Corsair at Pensacola State College and DSC’s In Motion, taking second and third, respectively. Photographer Michelle Meyers earned a first for news photo for her coverage of the Women’s March in Daytona Beach.

In Motion won first in sports reporting for a story by Mackie Chandler on how student athletes should receive more compensated for their participation in collegiate sports. Christina Lavris and Robin Banks took a first place in editing for their work on Aeolus.

The conference kicked off on Oct. 12 with students from campus publications across the state arriving at the Holiday Inn Resort at Disney Springs in Orlando. The ballroom foyer was lined with tables covered in stacks of publications from colleges attending the event, advisers for state publications offered in-depth publication critiques and students were also able to sign up and enter on-the-spot contests for poetry, movie review and photography.

The first night closed with an energetic karaoke costume party hosted by DJ Di. DSC’s In Motion staff were among the first to perform with a group rendition of N*Sync’s “Bye, Bye, Bye!” The staff also won prizes for best costumes at the party.

The afternoon of Oct. 13, students were invited to explore more than a dozen workshops covering a variety subjects related to the field of journalism and publications, which were presented by professionals, University of Florida and University of South Florida professors and advisers from state colleges from across the state, including In Motion founder Bruce Cook.

Prior to the awards ceremony, Keynote speaker Ben Montgomery, a Tampa Bay Times journalist and best-selling author, discussed the work that went into reporting his award-winning series “For Their Own Good,” which uncovered the horrific abuse that took place at the Florida School for Boys in Marianna, which as a result was shut down shortly after in 2011. His speech provided a valuable example of how journalism can encourage people to act and make the world a better place.

Award recipients from Daytona State include: Michelle Meyers, 1st  for News Photo, “If You Cut Off My Reproductive Choice”; Elizabeth Kirkland, 2nd  for Picture Story “Summer of Our Discontent”; Kate Barbier & Elizabeth Kirkland, 3rd  for Best Design; Kate Barbier, 2nd  for Advertising Design; Mackie Chandler, 1st  for Sports Writing “Paying Student Athletes Hot Topic”; Christina Lavris, 2nd  for Editorial Cartoon “Best in Primetime Television Fall 2016”, 2nd  for Comic Strip “The Academiacs: Power Outages”; Raina McGowan, 3rd  for General Column “Border Wall”, “Industrial Farms”, “Homeless Shelter.”

Former In Motion Editor in Chief Cynde Puckett took 2nd  for Editorial, “College Taking Steps to Help Homeless”; 2nd  for News Story “Museum Employee’s Good Deed”; and third for In-Depth Reporting “Rival Supporters at DSC, Ocean Center” on the Trump election rally. She also won Inner Circle Honors for placing in three or more categories.

Aeolus Literary Magazine awards include: Christina Lavris & Robin Banks, 1st for Editing; 3rd for poetry by Cynde Puckett “Kaleidoscope Dancers,” Gilarys Garcia Milan “Shaded Dreams” and Ashley Sperraza “Exhale.”